Sunday, October 29, 2017

Pianist Teri Parker new album release "In the Past"...refreshing and playful

Recently released is the refreshing and playful new album from Toronto-area pianist Teri Parker entitled "In the Past".  

Stream and download the album on Bandcamp HERE

The album is a collection of instrumental songs; from nostalgic and mellow to rhythmically driving and harmonically adventurous, and the song titles allude to characters or places in novels that inspired many of the compositions. Majnoun for example is the name of the central character in the novel Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis.  Many of these songs were written during an extremely inspired period in Parker’s life, when she was living in New York City, and studying with some incredible musicians, Aaron Goldberg, Guillermo Klein, Fred Hersch and Sophia Rosoff. 

Teri Parker is a jazz pianist, keyboardist and composer based in Toronto. In addition to leading her own quartet, she also co-leads the Parker Abbott Trio with pianist Simeon Abbott. Both of these groups play frequently in jazz clubs in Toronto and feature all original music. She is also a member of several other bands including Idioteque (Canada’s finest Radiohead tribute band) and the DeHarms (with singer-songwriter Carlie Howell). As a composer Teri actively writes for her own bands, and in 2015 received a Toronto Arts Council grant to write new music for her quartet, which can be heard on this, their debut album.

With the Parker Abbott Trio, Teri has released three albums; Gallery in 2011, The Wayfinders in 2014 and Elevation in 2016. Their latest release took them across Canada, performing at clubs and festivals coast to coast, from Hermann’s in Victoria, BC to the Halifax Jazz Festival. Their music has been called “an ethereal wonderland of sound and texture” (Brent Black, Bop-N-Jazz) and take improvisational music into new areas of exploration.

More videos on YouTube channel HERE

Official website:

Monday, October 9, 2017

Toronto-based collective, Collective Order, new release "Volume Two"..multi-talented collaboration

Volume Two is the first all-original album by Collective Order. The band initially formed in 2016 to make Volume One, a self-produced recording of jazz standards. Upon releasing the album they realized the potential the project had to be a diving board for collaboration and creativity. For many of the band members, Volume Two was their first opportunity to compose/arrange music for a full-length studio album. Drawing from a roster of nineteen musicians, each track features diverse instrumentation within ensembles that span from a quartet to a thirteen-piece. Volume Two provides the listener with an eclectic musical experience, offering a vast and varied stylistic range.  Every member of the group is under the age of 30, although the music defies their collective youth!  

It all started in the kitchen of a house in the heart of Toronto. There was a jam space in the basement and five rooms rented out by a rotating cast of musicians. This was the scene of many late nights spent drinking glasses of red wine talking about how the gig went. Between the players who lived there and the ones who just came to hang, a significant part of the Toronto jazz community had shared moments listening to records, trading thoughts on music, and expressing their goals. One of those goals was to get a group of players together to record an album of standards. The idea was to go into the studio and try to capture the magic that happens when players who have never met get on a stage, choose a standard they all know, and then somehow make it come to life. Last year, we made that record.

Stream and download the album on iTunes HERE


Official website:

After releasing ‘Volume One’, we had seventeen musicians that were keen to do it again, only this time with original compositions. The ensemble grew with the addition of Jocelyn Barth and Nebyu Yohannes and then, with our crew of nineteen, the planning for ‘Volume Two’ began. For many of us, this album is our debut as composers, arrangers, lyricists, and producers. This newness brought an exciting energy to the project and with the shared experience of making an album together already, we had developed a strong sense of community. There was collaboration, creativity, and input at every step of the process, which led to the album you’re holding right now. 

Community is the prevailing theme of our project. Looking ahead, we hope that Collective Order will continue to become more inclusive and reflective of the musical and cultural diversity that Toronto has to offer.

Volume Two was released worldwide on Friday, September 29, 2017. The release will be celebrated with a performance at Toronto’s Gladstone Hotel on Tuesday, October 17, 2017.

Saturday, October 7, 2017

Instrumental group Hutera from Helsinki, Finland debut release "Here It Is"...R'n'B, Jazz, Funk, Soul

Founded in 2011, Hutera is a Helsinki-based rhythm & jazz band with a groovy attitude. The musicians are hard working professionals, known from all sorts of different groups. (Marjo Leinonen Huff 'n' Puff, White Knuckles Trio, Lenni-Kalle Taipale Trio etc.)

The debut album consists of 10 new instrumenal songs, all written by the band members. One can here different styles from rhythm & blues and jazz to funk and soul. All of the songs were recorded live in studio.

The album was released as a LP-record and digitally. (one extra track on digital release).

Johannes Salomaa: Saxophones, flute
Petri Pietilä: Guitar
Risto Kumpulainen: Keayboards
Timo Tuppurainen: Bass
Niklas Ahlsved: Drums
Markus Jaatinen: Percussions

Recording & mixing: Niklas Ahlsved, Paahtimo.
Mastering: Hannu Lamminmäki
Cover art: Matias Nystedt

Vasara Records